(thanks)(giving)

Did you ever think about thanksgiving being separated into two words?

Thanks.

Giving.

Even though it is suppose to be giving thanks for the things we are thankful for, what if we not only gave thanks for all that we have been blessed with but also “thank” and “give.”

SOOO, being honest I am drinking a large peppermint mocha (btw fav drink) and my brain is sort of running a million miles a second.

Lets start with “thank.”

I challenge you to make a list of top 5 things you are thankful for. Here is my top 5 things I am thankful for.

  1. My heavenly father and his word- He is always there through it ALL and has an everlasting love for me – how freaking cool is that; plus the fact that we can have a relationship with him through the word!
  2. My family and Friends- supports me in all my decisions (even the crazy ones) , provide me with some amazing wisdom/advice, and supply my Dunkin Donuts addiction (Thx Daddy)
  3. My boyfriend – Clayton, you know you da real MVP, I wake up every morning and go to sleep every night so loved by you,  plus you let me wear your favorite jammies and always keep me adventurous
  4. Food, Water, Shelter, and Health- I grouped these together because life without these things would become pretty tough. Some people do have the challenge of not having these things (we will get to this later) but how thankful we must be for the little things like a cup of coffee or a PB&J
  5. Emotion – this one might be a little odd, but to be honest I am a sensitive emotional person and I love the ability to have emotion and truly feel things. It is important for me in understanding things.

After you do this list, pray for these things. Pray for the ability to listen and learn God’s word. Pray for your family. Pray for your friends. Pray for your significant other. Pray for all the things we take for granted that we have every day that we tend to overlook. Pray for the ability to feel. Pray for whatever you might be most thankful for. Not only pray for these things but also take some time out of your day to really thank all the people who have impacted, encouraged, and pushed you to be the best version of yourself. I promise they will appreciate this and it will mean a lot to them.

The bible tells us over and over to be thankful and to come to God in thanks for everything He has done, is doing, and will do.

My favorite bible verse about thanks is..

Bible Verse: ((1 Thessalonians 5:18))

“Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

And okay some of you might be like okay we get it, thanksgiving. Being thankful for all these things. Oh, let me tell yaaa there is so much more to it.

Giving. The other part of (thanks)(giving).

I think giving is something everyone can do. Okay let’s be really honest for a second and I will admit that I am a broke college student (SURPRISE!!) haha but not seriously, giving does not by any means have to be only monetary. It is oh sooo simple. Giving can be as easy as a smile. Giving someone a smile can turn that person’s entire day around.

I give through my time. I think that simply helping others whether that be listening to them after a bad day or simply giving them some words of encouragement can go a long way. You will be surprised how many people you will come by in your life and all they needed was for you to give them some of your time, to show you care and are going to be there for them.

One more thing to think about. God gave his only son. He GAVE his only son for us to have life. If you let that sink in, you will see how it should be natural for us to give as well. If God can give his son, we can give to others who are in need.

Bible Verse: ((Luke 6:30)) I know this verse is talking about loving your enemies but God speaks some truth right here about giving and not expecting anything in return…

“Give to everyone who asks you, and if anyone takes what belongs to you, do not demand it back. Do to others as you would have them do to you.”

With thanksgiving right around the corner, I challenge you to give. Whether that be give your time working at a soup kitchen, writing compliments and giving them to random stranger, or simply being there for someone in time of need, I cannot stress how much of an impact you will have on someone and how much of an impact it can have on your own faith.

Do not just do these things during the thanksgiving season but try and making         (thanks)(giving) a habit in your everyday lives.

((Picture Background)): Our family every Thanksgiving morning participates in a 5k/10k and gives back to the Children’s Hospital in Atlanta!

 

~~Moorea~~

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

